This week in my kitchen :: Blog hop

Playing along with Heather, capturing moments in my kitchen this week.

food4

Banana bread made from the same New Farm Vegetarian Cookbook recipe my mom used when I was growing up. So insanely simple and good.

Granola made using Alton Brown's recipe from Food Network.

Granola made using Alton Brown’s recipe from Food Network.

Starting on chicken noodle soup in the crock pot. The house smelled beautiful by day's end.

Starting on chicken noodle soup in the crock pot. The house smelled beautiful by day’s end.

Potato salad in the making - super simple, just chop up what's in the bowl, stir in a little mayo and sprinkle on paprika.

Potato salad in the making – super simple, just chop up what’s in the bowl, stir in a little mayo and sprinkle on paprika.

It is nice to look over this post and think about the week in my kitchen, but I have learned something: This kind of post is not for me. I always forget to stop and take a picture while I’m cooking, plus my kitchen is tiny and dark, so to take photos I had to set things on the dining table. This will probably be my only attempt at this blog hop, but I’m glad I gave it a try!

20 thoughts on “This week in my kitchen :: Blog hop

  1. I found that I had to keep the camera in the kitchen to remember to take photos! It can be challenging at times – unless I just want to display pictures of a messy kitchen! And the may be exactly what everyone sees on my blog next week.

  2. I did enjoy your photos, you made me want to go to the kirchen and make some potatoe salad… I have the same problems, though…tiny kitchen with poor lighting! Have to wait for summer to take better pictures.

  3. Jilly says:

    More than anything, dark small kitchens included, I love that we are all creating nourishing love in our kitchens!!!

    • Thanks! It was super simple, just put in chicken, season to taste, pour on chicken stock and cook for five hours. We actually ended up serving it over rice instead of noodles and it was delicious for to days.

    • I can’t recommend the New Farm cookbook enough – my mom bought it new in the 70s and we grew up cooking out of it until it was tattered, then I bought my own copy when I moved away for graduate school. The cookie recipes are killer, too. What I love is that the recipes use very few ingredients, the prep process is super simple, and the end result of the breads and desserts are not too sweet – very low on sugar and often use honey. Hope you find some recipes that you love!

    • Thanks for stopping by, Heather!
      We bring along granola when we travel, plus honey, peanut or almond butter, and hearty bread for easy sandwiches that won’t spoil in the car. Safe travels and I hope you have good weather!
      ~Spring

Leave a Reply

